Friend Friday: Authenticity

My new favorite song…

1. Most readers and fellow fashion bloggers value authenticity in the blogs they read. How would you describe blog/blogger authenticity? Blog authenticity to me is creating a unique aesthetic to your blog.
2. When it comes to your blog how to you infuse it with that true/authentic feeling? In real life I am very random. I think that is evident. I also don’t mind posting things that aren’t perfect. There is beauty in everything.
3. Have you stopped following a blog in the last three months? What made you lose interest? Yes, because I don’t feel a connection with the blog or more importantly the blogger. 
4. We can’t communicate effectively on our blogs, something we don’t live in real life… what are some ways you try to live an authentic life? I do not agree that you can’t communicate effectively even if you haven’t lived it in real life. That is part of the beauty of a blog, it is personal, and you can make it something that isn’t your life. I personally don’t do this, but I don’t think it is wrong to do so.

5. Give a shout-out… Which bloggers do you think are truly genuine and why? Devilishly Pleasurable stands out to me as being truly genuine. She have a very different aesthetic than me, but I appreciate her diversity and enjoy seeing what makes her unique. I also think The Drifter and the Gypsy is genuine although I have commented on her blog and she has never commented back. I still keep finding myself intrigued with the beautiful pictures she finds and shares.

By the way, my entire outfit is thrifted! I also wore this during the day at home, by myself.

15 responses

  1. Hey doll, just saw your comment on my #FBFF post. No need to feel intimated! To each his own, first and foremost. I love your personality! We all have to make the most of where we are and our resources. I am actually a big fan of the underdog blog, not super bloggers, because I value the interaction. So, I hope you realize that even if I can’t get to your blog as often as I like, it doesn’t mean I think less of you. I’m just so swamped these days!

    ••V••
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    @gritandglamour

  2. I completely agree with you when you say I also don’t mind posting things that aren’t perfect. There is beauty in everything. … I know you are real! And real pretty looking with some wise thoughts too! :)

  3. Interesting response to #4. I think it would be hard to communicate something if you don’t believe it, even if it is just on the blog. It’s like living a double life. It works for a while but eventually you’re either Jekyll or Hyde – in my opinion. – Katy

    • I totally see what you are saying. It is true that you are who you are, and I think responses should be real and honest.

      I guess I see it more as “If I could I would live like this” type idea. Sort of like the idea of girls blogging about expensive things even though they don’t have money.

  4. i love that your whole outfit is thrifted! during the 30 for 30 challenge, all i really wanted to do was go thrifting… i still have yet to go, but i can’t wait. especially after seeing this outfit!

  5. You look gorgeous, Annie! Adore your outfit. And I’m impressed that you got so dressed up for a day at home! Really interesting to read your thoughts on blogger authenticity :)

  6. Firstly, I love that Muse song!
    I loverd reading your thoughts on this issue. Blogger authenticity is really important and the great thing about the blogging world is that there are so many unique blogs.

    Also love your outfit. The skirt is really pretty.

  7. Hi Annie,
    Thank you for stopping by my blog.
    I tried to listen to the song but it said it was disabled by request so I will watch it on Youtube.
    I love wearing thrifted outfits, very pretty what you have on there and that’s cool that you are wearing it at home.
    I read your post and I do agree that a blog is personal but for it to be personal you have to reveal a part of you even a little bit because if a person is playing a role it’s almost like acting. And if that’s the kind of blog it is maybe they should say that in the About section so the readers will know.
    Thanks for sharing.

  8. Annie you are lovely and your legggssssssss…. sigh… and I love your blog moniker!

    Your answers are very interesting. Made me wonder what makes me lose interest…

    I am not a good blogger. I am terrible at the interactive aspect. I very rarely respond to comments left on my blog post and -although I used to be a prolific blog commenter at one stage- I no longer leave comments on all the blogs I visit. eg. even though I have visited your blog a few times (ever since I ‘found’ you via my blog), only now do I leave a comment at past 1am!
    …I was spending up to 4 hours a day leaving comments. I’m not a succinct comment leaver. I write essays (“really?”)… I can’t change that. If this is supposed to be a conversation then I will answer in depth.

    …so I made a choice, I became a lurker, I gave up daily reciprocal commenting and I have lost many commenters because of this, which has made me doubt the authenticity of ‘the blogging ethos’. Blogging was supposed to give everyone an unconditional net voice but that’s a fallacy. Blogging is quid pro quo. Just like in ‘real’ life I guess. That saddens me a bit because I was under the impression that this was sort of freedom… only to find that blogging is bound by the same set of rules. You have to fit in to others expectations. And I refuse to. To my detriment perhaps.

    I lose a ‘follower’ a day now. Oh well. I am who I am but in order to keep my readers I have to be what they want me to be. Interesting.

    …I never describe what I’m wearing but a lot of my garments are op-shopped (thrifted)… I LOVE op-shopping. For many reasons, some surprisingly noble!

  9. Pingback: What’d she get? (and that secret I promised!) | Makeup and Jeans Girl

Leave a Reply

