Friend Friday: Criticism and Comments

Modly Chic came up with a brilliant idea to ask blogger friends questions every Friday. I always look forward to Friend Friday. If you want to join check out her the link I posted.
1. Do you allow comments on your blog? Why or why not?

Yes, I like getting feedback, getting to know other people, and knowing people read my blog. I definitely prefer followers who comment than a bunch of followers who never comment.

2. Do you think people at times leave comments that are insincere or not well-thought out? What’s the point?

Yep. I do this often I think. I mainly do it because I want the blogger to know I’m reading. Sometimes I don’t know what to say. Sometimes I’m busy and just want to get my blog fix. I do try to leave meaningful comment sometimes as well though. I like both kind of comments on my blog.

3. Would you ever leave a comment that could be considered negative?

Yes, but I try to do it tastefully. I remember when I first started blogging, I read a blog that was saying you should under no circumstance kill rats. Sorry but I disagree. If you have an infestation, it’s unsanitary, and sometimes killing them is the only way to really get rid of them. I do respect life. I just had a different opinion. That person never responded. I stopped following. I do try to leave negative comments tasteful. And if I don’t like someone’s outfit, I’m not going to say so unless they specifically ask. My reasoning? It’s their outfit, not mine, and they probably hate my style. Sometimes I go back and delete my comments…. not often though. I don’t want to be hurtful, ever.

4. Most people claim to like constructive criticism. Do you really and how do you offer that kind of criticism to others?

I think it is all in the way that you approach it. No. I don’t normally give constructive criticism unless the author specifically asks for it. Even then I might not. Everyone has a different view of how things look, what they like, etc. I also wouldn’t like it if people were constantly telling me that I looked horrid in all my outfits, simply because our style choices were different. I wouldn’t do that to someone.

5. Some bloggers don’t allow comments in order to cut down on negativity. Do you think that is the way to go or are there other ways to deal with the negative vibes?

If there cyberbulling is an issue, than yes. I think there are other ways to get rid of negative vibes though, but this is probably the most affective especially if you are having a difficult time dealing with it mentally. I actually got rid of my Facebook account because it simply added negativity into my life. I actually tried to get rid of it a few times, but it’s lame and all you have to do is sign back in. So I actually do have an account, but I had Andrew block it from my computer. It has made me so much happier! If I really want on there I can do it by getting on his computer. Not only that but I really enjoy blogging, where as I hated FB. So I have more time to do what I actually enjoy doing.

3 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this on G&G and here. I axed Facebook too about a year ago. It also caused me major problems and I have lost several friendships as a result. It was a constant source of negative energy. Good for you for being one of the few to kiss it goodbye. I totally know how you feel!

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    twitter: @gritandglamour

Leave a Reply

