Being A Forest Girl Makes Me A Fairy Right?

Whenever people ask me where I am from I have a difficult time trying to explain. 
Sometimes I say, I’m a hillbilly. But then I imagine an image of a big chunky guy with overall’s, missing teeth, and wheat in his mouth. 
Sometimes I say, I’m from the boonies. Then I think of “The Goonies” for some reason. 
Other times I say I’m from hick-ville. But I hate using the term hick. So how do I describe this beautiful rural place I am from?
Consider these Urban Dictionary terms when I try to describe where I am from.
hillbilly

Opposite of Metropolitan. Usually found living in sparsely populated areas away from the hustle & bustle of city life. Hillbilly’s don’t give a shit what city folk think of them. Their appearance & what you think of them is not high on their priority list.

What is important to a Hillbilly?

1. Having a good time with friends & family
2. Not having to answer to anybody
3. Spending time in the outdoors; either in the woods or on the water.
4. Enjoying the finer things in life that money can’t buy.

A Modern Hillbilly is NOT:

1. Uneducated (most have college degrees)
2. a redneck

3. white trash

4. a wigger

5. a nigger

6. poor or live in a shack


The Modern Hillbilly is a true bohemian who is not constricted by what the mainstream considers acceptable. They live by their own rules, similar to the “laws of the land”.

boonies  

The sticks, in the middle of no where. Usually associated with living out in the country.

hickville  

the middle of nowhere boondocks crazy town

I don’t like to say I’m a country girl because at heart I am not. My younger sister is, and I think it is cute. It’s just not me. I use to joke and say I’m a forest girl, mainly because I wanted to be a fairy.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

