Love your Style. How to wear your grandma’s dress.

Clothes are never a frivolity: they always mean something. ~James Laver

For me this quote means two things. First, there are certain items in my closet that hold a story. When those clothes no longer fit my lifestyle I get rid of them. When the story turns into a sad memory, I also get rid of them. I want only things that bring joy in my life.
I also think about clothes and how they make a person feel. Does it show that you are comfortable as a person? Or that you want to live life on the edge? I think clothes are a trademark to your lifestyle. Do you care about expressing yourself through clothing, or do you not need that as an outlet?
For me, I feel like I am always changing. However I struggle with holding on to the past, which is not always a good thing. Recently I have been trying to simply focus what happiness the future can bring.

This dress was one of my grandmas, but it fit poorly in the top, and looked kind of funky. So, I cut it! FASHION RULE #1 Don’t keep stuff you wont wear simply for the memory. If you plan on throwing something away try to alter it first! I think my grandma would be proud of me for altering this dress into something I will wear, so that it is getting the use it deserves.
also my rules are in no order. This is just the first one of a series.

This is also one of the first times that I mixed pattern. Yeah, I’m always a few seasons late. lol Pattern mixing has never really been my thing, but when I saw this it had just the effect I was looking for.
Have you tried altering clothing? Do you have “grandma” pieces? Do you like to mix patterns? Do you think clothes are frivolous?

7 responses

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. I think your pattern mixing here is excellent. Stripes and florals seem so natural together. I also agree with your fashion rule about trying to alter things first.www.noguiltfashion.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

