Friend Friday: Size

Hey ladies! So I hope you enjoy this post! I hope I don’t offend anyone. These are just my ideas. If you decide to answer the questions too, let me know! I’d love to read your opinions!
1. Should someone’s size stop them from fashion blogging or having a voice in the community?   
Absolutely not. However I personally don’t like it when people bash on girls for their size, (if it is skinny or heavy) or say things like being “curvy” equates to being a real woman. I completely 100% disagree with statements like that.
Also, fashion to me is knowing what looks good on you.
2. In your opinion, can the term “curvy” and “plus-sized” be used interchangeably when it comes to fashion?
Depending on what you are trying to get across. If you don’t like the term “plus-sized” then sure use curvy for your personal stuff. Choosing how you describe yourself is completely up to you. I guess the issue for me is that I would define the two differently. Curvy to me is when you have a big bust, big hips, a tummy, or a combination of things like that. “Plus-sized” to me is being large everywhere, not specific places. But I could be wrong. That’s just how I see it.
3.  Many people make the argument that catering to plus sized women would promote being overweight as “okay”.  What do you think?  Should more designers be catering to plus size women?
 Okay, so here we go…I would prefer to see some more curvy women walking the runways (like the Kardasians!), but overweight? No. When I think of overweight I think of unhealthy. I know that isn’t always true, but in general I  think people would be healthier if they lost a little bit of weight and ate healthier. (In America there is a huge obesity issue even in babies.) Why is it that women tend to be heavier when they are older? It is because at about age 30 your metabolism slows down. Even though you may have gotten away with not exercising and eating everything you want in your 20’s, by 30 to maintain a healthy weight most people need to exercise but chose not to. And so I think it is better to focus on a healthy weight, not eating-disorder skinny girls or overweight girls.
4.  Should the mainstream fashion industry be showcasing more plus size models?
I do like this movement of showcasing plus size, however I hate that word. I think that they are trying to focus on healthier women, showing that being a little bigger is sometimes better than being too small. Also as a side note I know it is easier to design for thinner girls because when you get into ‘curves’ all women have different curvy shapes. That is a reason I think designers prefer skinny models.

5. For you personally, how do you view your size, the struggle with it through the years, your ideal size, etc.
I currently am very happy with my size after a long struggle. I am one of those girls that have had eating issues. I also have gone through pregnancy which can be very hard mentally since you gain weight/lose weight so quickly. I miss being curvy. I really do, however, I feel healthier which is a big deal to me. I don’t feel too skinny either, which I have in the past. One thing I have noticed though is that my choices on fashion have changed with my size change.
And lastly, one last thing I have learned is that it is not healthy to obsess over your weight. If you have gained a few extra pounds do what you need to lose them, or just be happy with yourself and who you are. You will still be beautiful even if you are a little heavier.

Leave a Reply

